Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 07-09-10, 02:12 AM   #1
Ground Pounder
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Default Any wood-carving lure makers out there?

In addition to being an amateur basser, I'm also an amateur woodworker. I've been at it for a couple years now, mostly with small furnature and keep-sakes. I recently made a couple gunstocks for a buddy and am thinking of trying my hand at some hand-carved lures. My grandpa used to do some killer duck decoys back when I was a kid, but I've never been up-close and personal with hand-carved tackle.

So c'mon - let's see 'em!
Ground Pounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-10, 11:19 AM   #2
Bender
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I had intentions of doing this and actually made one cigar style bait. The knives I was using are SUPER sharp and I stopped them all the time so with one slip I took the end of a finger off and cut another to the bone. That one is still kind of numb 7 months later so I haven't picked up a knife since.

Honestly I haven't seen many hand carved baits out there. The "home made" ones I have seen were done on a lathe with a tracer. Do you plan on using a lathe or knives?

For the hardware required you can drive down to Toledo and go to Janns Netcraft or order online from Barlows.
Bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-10, 12:24 PM   #3
Ground Pounder
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Thanks for the reply Bender. The knifeblade's never been my strong suit, so I'm more of a power-tooler. But I have gotten pretty good with the fordham and dremel doing detail work on jewelry boxes and cigar boxes for the family for christmas last year. I do have a cheapo pen-turning lathe that I picked up at Harbor Freight about a year ago, which will come in handy.
Ground Pounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-10, 02:11 PM   #4
Rebbasser