Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 08-18-05, 01:56 AM   #1
KenDammit
BassFishin.Com Veteran Member

Default building your own water

I've been tossing around ideas in my head for a few months about how I'd build a pond of my own. Thinking about how i'd build the bottom, what kind of cover, structure, how big it would be, all that kind of stuff, so I figured I'd just start a thread and see how you guys would build one.

I think I'd really like to incorporate a lot of different fish holding spots into mine. Rip-rap, docks, timber, submerged tree's, weeds and grasses, shallow flats, some drop offs in the bottom, some cliff-like drop offs along some of the banks and also in the middle.

So what are things you guys would do?
KenDammit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-05, 07:47 AM   #2
Fishie
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I would make some 45 degree angle points for winter fishing that have really deep water off to the sides and I would have lots of brush on them. I would also make like some bluff banks with rocks that had really deep water on them and I would put brush off of them.
Old 08-18-05, 08:21 AM   #3
lizardsrule
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

I start off with a creek. Then dig out around it, and make a few holes. I would take several cover ideas, PVC trees, fish attractors, etc. I would also make a couple of rock piles. Just depends on how much land I have to work with. If I have enough to make a 25 acres lake, watchtout. If it's only a couple of acres, then you got a lot less to work with. But starting with a creek would be a must IMO. Especially on years like this. You need to have some water coming in. Just flat land won't help refill it much at all. All our local ponds are down 3-4 feet right now from the low rainfall this year. If it was a creek bed, then you wouldn't have it near as low right now.

Lizards